Long before I became the 50th Anniversary Miss Black America, before I was a tech executive or a diversity advocate, I was a weird nine-year-old watching impeachment proceedings on TV. At the HBCUs gala, Richardson huddled with state Rep. J.A. She also ran track and field and likes to call the four-inch stilettos she always wears her “running sneakers.”, “I will say I have never once gotten lost in a crowd,” she says. Follow live updates on the election here. The same clap back would be applied to someone saying I was abandoned as a child thus, — Diego Torres (@Socaldiced) November 29, 2019. Instead, he offers thoughtful answers to the questions that matter. Ryann Richardson made history when she became the 50th Anniversary Miss Black America. She knew that he’d probably lose here. “I found the candidate I was looking for in former South Bend Mayor, Pete Buttigieg,” said Miss Black America Ryann Richarson who is now a surrogate for the presidential candidate. Who could move in if he fades out? It seems like the narrative works to the detriment of our community, who are completely unaware that there is a political candidate, who didn’t make some stuff up, who literally engaged dozens of leaders – Black leaders, policy experts, attorneys, mayors and activists to write a plan for Black America and it’s getting no visibility.”. At that time, women of color were still barred from the predominantly white pageant’s stage. It only distracts from what matters — building a future in which none of us are victimized by such indignities. “Twitter rage ensued. She grilled Buttigieg about the shooting of Eric Logan, a black man in South Bend, by a white police officer. He talked about humility and how he was not seeking the presidency for exaltation but to be the chief servant of the people. “He’s what, 37, 38 years old? READ MORE: OPINION: The Democratic Party seems to want Black votes, but discouraged by the making of another Black president. How do we usher in a sustainable fut